

## City of Pittsburgh

510 City-County Building 414 Grant Street Pittsburgh, PA 15219

## **Text File**

Introduced: 3/5/2019 Bill No: 2019-1462, Version: 1

Committee: City Council Status: Adopted

WHEREAS, the Fraternal Order of Police Fort Pitt Lodge #1 is the voice of those who dedicate their lives to protect and serve our communities; and,

**WHEREAS**, the Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) Fort Pitt Lodge #1 is committed to improving the working conditions of law enforcement officers and the safety of those they serve through education, legislation, information, community involvement and employee representation; and,

**WHEREAS**, FOP Fort Pitt Lodge #1 is hosting its Annual Retirement and Awards Dinner Party Friday, March 8, 2019 at the Teamsters Hall #249 located in Lawrenceville; and,

WHEREAS, the following twenty-eight officers who retired from the City of Pittsburgh Police Bureau in the year 2018 are being honored: Thomas Andrzejczak, Richard J. Bowen, Antoine Cain, Arnie Chisom, Antonio Ciummo, Timothy Crane, Glen I. Cummins, Edward Cunningham Jr., Barry D. Budd, Shirley R. Epperson, Charles Hanlon, Robert L. Harbough Jr., Charles Higgins, Ronald Hough, Morgan O. Jenkins, David A. Krueger, Dorian Merlina, Anthony Moreno, Samuel Muoio, Brian K. Nicholas, James Perry, Timothy G. Rush, Edward D. Saunders, Larry Scirotto, Keith Stover, Linda M. White, Robert L. White Jr., and Christine D. Williams; and,

WHEREAS, this year's recipient of the Pat McNamara Award is officer Michael Benner, and the recipient of the Meritorious Award is officer Howard Malloy; and,

WHEREAS, the following fifty-four FOP members from the Class of 1968 are being honored for their 50 years of membership: Patrick J. Anderson, Samuel J. Barone Jr., James M. Billups, John R. Bolla, John R. Carlson, Richard J. Carter, Bernard G. Ciganek, Martin J. Cooney, Kenneth H. Faulk Sr., John A. Finello, Earl Frobe, Louis P. Garda, James W. Grieser, Stephen V. Grosskinsky, Thomas G. Hart Jr., Henry G. Joneikis, Michael J. Joyce, Stephen J. Kardell, Albin E. Klodowski, Harold G. Kotchig Jr., Thomas J. Lally, Arthur J. Lawniczak, John H. Long, John A. Long, Ronald R. Lopata, Michael N. Lucia, Regis J. Lynch, Edward T. Malecki, Howard V. Malloy, John S. McAdoo, David E. McNutt, Richard H. Meister, Paul R. Mikszan, James D. Miller, John J. O'Connor, Edward J. Page, Howard F. Parsons, Robert A. Pindel, Joseph H. Poniewaz, Patrick R. Popinski, Richard A. Puleo, Thomas E. Remp, Charles J. Renk, Edward M. Roberts, Therese L. Rocco, Thomas F. Rogers, Emile C. Schollaert, James J. Scopel, Dennis Silinski, Robert J. Spehar, Ernest M. Tomasko, Donald A. Wennersten, Frederick J. Wolfe, and Robert E. Yauch; and,

**NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Council of the City of Pittsburgh does hereby commend the 2018 retirees for their dedication and commitment to protecting and servicing the people of the City of Pittsburgh, as well as the Class of 1968 for their 50 years of membership in the FOP; and,

Introduced: 3/5/2019 Bill No: 2019-1462, Version: 1

Committee: City Council Status: Adopted

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that the Council of the City of Pittsburgh does hereby declare Friday, March 8, 2019 to be "FOP Fort Pitt Lodge #1 Retirees Day" in the City of Pittsburgh.