

Text File

Introduced: 1/13/2015

Bill No: 2015-1193, Version: 1

Committee: City Council

Status: Adopted

WHEREAS, each year Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Pittsburgh presents to deserving members of their local team the **Coalition of the Year Award**, recognizing the importance of teamwork and cooperation to their vital community services; and,

WHEREAS, 2015 marks the 50th anniversary of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Pittsburgh, creating a special level of significance for this annual award; and,

WHEREAS, in recognition of their praiseworthy work furthering the charitable mission and goals of Big Brothers Big Sisters, this year's Coalition of the Year Award is being presented to all members of the BBBS Young Professional Outreach Board, Washington County Advisory Board representative Abbey Stark, Youth Outcomes Advisory Board representative Sabrina Saunders, and BIG Community Partners of the Year YMCA of Greater Pittsburgh and TechShop Pittsburgh, all of whom will be presented with an award and honored at the Coalition of the Year Award event on January 22nd, 2015; and,

WHEREAS, the Young Professional Outreach Board members include Alyssa DiLoreto- President, Justin Matase- Vice President, and members Kelly Anderson, Jessica Brubach, Cristina Calise, Adam Churchill, Kyle Eberst, Doug Foster, Cara Mia Grassi, Steve Hussar, Chris Meaner, Matthew Mentecky, Kara Olson, Dan Soltesz, and Bobby Thompson; and,

WHEREAS, these groups and individuals represent the best possible example of community service in their commitment to mentoring children and young adults in need, and serve as a model for the residents of our city; and,

NOW, *THEREFORE*, *BE IT RESOLVED* that the Council of the City of Pittsburgh does hereby commend and celebrate the work of Big Brothers Big Sisters and the recipients of the 2014 Coalition of the Year Award, and does hereby declare **Tuesday**, **January 13th**, **2015** to be **Big Brothers Big Sisters Coalition of the Year** day in the City of Pittsburgh.