

City of Pittsburgh

510 City-County Building 414 Grant Street Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Text File

Introduced: 5/10/2011 Bill No: 2011-1707, Version: 1

Committee: City Council Status: Adopted

WHEREAS, the Jewish Sports Hall of Fame of Western Pennsylvania was founded in 1982 with the mission to financially support Jewish related sports programs in Western PA and in Israel and to identify Jewish men and women with connections to Western PA who have achieved a high level in athletic competition or with prestigious careers that are closely related to sports, and to honor them with induction into the Jewish Sports Hall of Fame; and,

WHEREAS, this year, at the Annual Banquet on May 15, 2011, at Congregation Beth Shalom, the **Jewish Sports Hall of Fame of Western PA** will induct **Robert Alman** for Bowling, **Stuart Kline** for Football, **Jack Sable** for Baseball, **Mark Schwartz** for Track and Field and **Nelson Goldberg**, posthumously for Sports Telecommunications; and,

WHEREAS, in addition, the Jewish Sports Hall of Fame will recognize Herb Goldstein with the Ziggy Kahn Memorial Award for making an outstanding contribution to the children of our community; and,

WHEREAS, the Jewish Sports Hall of Fame will also present the Manny Gold Humanitarian Award to Franco Harris for his extensive philanthropic efforts and concern for others less fortunate which represent the values that Manny Gold cherished; and,

WHEREAS, the Jewish Sports Hall of Fame will present the 2011 Nathan H. Kaufman Scholastic Awards to 26 local Jewish high school seniors who have achieved at a high level athletically and scholastically; and,

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the City if Pittsburgh does hereby commend the **Jewish Sports Hall of Fame of Western Pennsylvania** for its efforts to promote and recognize Jewish athletes and , past and present; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Council of the City of Pittsburgh does hereby declare May 15, 2011, to be "JEWISH SPORTS HALL OF FAME DAY" in the City of Pittsburgh.

SPONSORED BY COUNCILMAN DOUGLAS SHIELDS
CO-SPONSORED BY COUNCIL PRESIDENT DARLENE HARRIS
AND MEMBERS OF COUNCIL RICKY V. BURGESS, PATRICK DOWD, BRUCE A. KRAUS, R. DANIEL LAVELLE,
BILL PEDUTO, NATALIA RUDIAK AND
THERESA KAIL-SMITH