

City of Pittsburgh

510 City-County Building 414 Grant Street Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Text File

Introduced: 12/7/2010 Bill No: 2010-1196, Version: 1

Committee: City Council Status: Adopted

WHEREAS, the Brookline Knights Football program has a long-standing tradition of gridiron excellence dating back to their inception in 1974 and its teams have risen to the top of the Pittsburgh youth football scene time and time again over the past 37 years; and

WHEREAS, the South Suburban Youth Football League, formed in 2006, and comprised of teams from Baldwin, Bethel Park, Brentwood, Brookline, Carlynton, Chartiers Valley, Montour, Moon, North Hills, South Park, South Side, Thomas Jefferson, West Allegheny, and West Mifflin, with age groups for 8-Under, 10-Under, 11-Under and 13-Under, has held a Super Bowl championship each year for the individual age groups; and

WHEREAS, on Sunday, November 14, the undefeated Brookline Knights 13-Under Team won the 2010 SSYFL Super Bowl Championship with a 34 to 0 victory over Bethel Park; and

WHEREAS, since 2006, this particular group of kids have won four Super Bowl championships in 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2010 as they progressed through the age groups and also won a title in 2004 as a member of the Western Pennsylvania Suburban Youth Football League, for a record five championships in seven seasons; and

WHEREAS, since beginning competitive football in 2004, this team has compiled a record of 67 wins against only 8 losses for a winning percentage of .893, including three undefeated seasons. The team finished the 2010 season with a 22 game winning streak; and

WHEREAS, the Members of the 2010 Brookline Knights 13-Under team are Anthony Pham, Joey Tongel, Jeffrey Arnold, Dylan DiRenna, William Madeja, Tyler Thornton, Edward Jordan, Christopher Elstner, Billy O'Malley, Michael Roper, Brendan Cunningham, Garrett Martin, Joey Kalsek, Edgard Fumbula, Austin Reed, Connor McGinnis, Donnie West, Malik Petite, Adam Ottaviano, Martino Stein, Joey Bonnar, Julius Noel, Matt Haskins, Tyion Powe, Gino Foster, David Barlow, Khalil Sanders, Bryan Bergener, Taylor Thornton, Zacheria Sesay, Airshaan Warren, Richie Ryan, Michael Hennel and Damarko Thomas. The head coach is Don Helman. The assistant coaches are Joe Tongel, Sean Stein, Jerry Tuite, George DelGreco and Bill O'Malley; and

WHEREAS, along with Coaches Don Helman, Joe Tongel and Bill O'Malley, six of the Knight players present, Connor McGinnis, Joey Kalsek, Martino Stein, Gino Foster, Garrett Martin and Joey Tongel, have played on all five championship teams; and

WHEREAS, these talented young men are part of the most successful team in 37 years to rise through the ranks of the Brookline Knights Football Association and by virtue of their achievements will be remembered as one of Pittsburgh's Gridiron Dynasties; and

Introduced: 12/7/2010 Bill No: 2010-1196, Version: 1

Committee: City Council Status: Adopted

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Council of the City of Pittsburgh does hereby recognize and commend players, coaches, parents and fans that make up the 2010 SSYFL Champion Brookline Knights and the glory they have brought through their hard work, dedication and sportsmanship to the City of Pittsburgh.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Council of the City of Pittsburgh proclaims that Tuesday, December 7, 2010 be hereby declared the Brookline Knights Day in the City of Pittsburgh.