

City of Pittsburgh

510 City-County Building 414 Grant Street Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 2010-1238 **Version**: 1

Type: Proclamation Status: Adopted

File created: 12/20/2010 In control: City Council

On agenda: Final action: 12/20/2010

Enactment date: 12/20/2010 Enactment #: 863

Effective date:

Title: NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the City of Pittsburgh commends the 2010

City League Champion Perry Traditional Academy Commodore Football Team for their tenacity, strength of character, team spirit and excellence on the field of play, and declares Monday, December 20, 2010 "Perry Commodores' Football 2010 City League Champs Day" in the City of Pittsburgh.

Sponsors: Darlene M. Harris, All Members
Indexes: PROCLAMATION - MRS. HARRIS

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. 2010-1238.doc

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
12/20/2010	1	City Council	Adopted	Pass

WHEREAS, Perry Traditional Academy's Commodores are the City League Football Champs for 2010, final score 32-0; and

WHEREAS, on November 20th a packed Cupples Stadium witnessed Perry's Senior Quarterback Greg McGhee complete six of ten passes for 183 yards, totaling 197 yards passing and 58 yards rushing for the game; and

WHEREAS, Perry's big play offense included a Devin Ghafoor catch for a 69-yard sideline run and the Chinelo Oparanozie led the rushing game with 79 yards on 18 attempts, smothered the Brashear Bulls holding them to three yards rushing and minus two yards passing through the entire game; and

WHEREAS, McGhee is the first recipient of the Jeron Grayson Most Valuable Player award and was recognized as Player of the Week by the *Pittsburgh Post-Gazette*, WTAE-TV and the *Pittsburgh Tribune-Review*; and

WHEREAS, the City League's two leading receivers hail from Perry, Devin Ghafoor and Eric Frey; and

WHEREAS, the Perry Commodores were named Team of the Week by the FSN / Steelers High School Network and all senior players are Pittsburgh Promise ready and have plans to continue their education; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Bill Gallagher says his Commodores' tremendous senior leadership, total commitment to teamwork and unselfishness made this great group of students a winning team;

WHEREAS, rounding out the team, are:

Greg McGhee Raymond Taylor Shakil Brown Joe Arthur

Brendan Edwards Deacon Blackwell Keenan Jackson Leighton Hawkins

File #: 2010-1238, Version: 1

Ahmed Turner	Daron Clark	Julian Dean	Darelle Carson
Juyuan Bryd	Quentin Carter	Donte Marcus	Antwan Collier
Gerald Sherell	Andrew Umphrey	Rodney Gaskins	Curtis Edmonds
Isaiah Williams	Robert Willie	Michael Banks	Chad Trimbur
Darrin Peeks	Tijuan Sherrell	Steven Wicks	Jordan Clayton
Josh Visokey	Allon Thornton	Joe Dreves	Jermaine Herring
Nick Eritz	Gene't Moore	Javaughn Wise	Brett Schaeffer
Vidal Morgan	Ryan Shaneyfelt	Joe William	Lloyd Reid
Mallory Claybourne	Bronson Pryzbilinski	Devin Ghafoor	Chinelo Oparanozie
Eric Frey; and			

WHEREAS, support staff includes Assistant Coaches Tim Broderick, Brian Schipani, Steve Abbondanza, Mike Schrenker, Chuck Linhart, Kip Bryant and the "film man" is Juice Gallagher; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the City of Pittsburgh commends the 2010 City League Champion Perry Traditional Academy Commodore Football Team for their tenacity, strength of character, team spirit and excellence on the field of play, and declares Monday, December 20, 2010 "Perry Commodores' Football 2010 City League Champs Day" in the City of Pittsburgh.