Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	2021-1732	Version: 1			
Туре:	Proclamation		Status:	Adopted	
File created:	7/26/2021		In control:	City Council	
On agenda:	7/27/2021		Final action:	7/27/2021	
Enactment date:	7/27/2021		Enactment #:	472	
Effective date:	7/27/2021				
Title:	WHEREAS, the Mike Creighton Memorial Committee, in association with the Saint Mary of the Mount Alumni and the Mt. Washington Hall of Fame, is hosting the annual Mike Awards on Sunday, August 8th at the LeMont Restaurant; and,				
Sponsors:	Theresa Kail-Smith, All Members				
Indexes:	PROCLAMATION - MRS. KAIL-SMITH				
Code sections:					
Attachments:					

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
7/27/2021	1	City Council	Adopted	Pass

WHEREAS, the Mike Creighton Memorial Committee, in association with the Saint Mary of the Mount Alumni and the Mt. Washington Hall of Fame, is hosting the annual Mike Awards on Sunday, August 8th at the LeMont Restaurant; and,

WHEREAS, the "Mike Awards" started a decade ago by St. Mary alumnus Ken Gianella and the alumni association to honor the late Mike Creighton, a popular St Mary's graduate and include the Alumnus of the Year and the Student Resource Award, a monetary award to help defray the non-tuition expenses incurred by Duquesne University students; and,

WHEREAS, this year, Rege Farrell from the Class of '68 was named the Saint Mary of the Mount Alumnus of the Year. The recipients of the 2021 Duquesne University Michael J. Creighton Student Resource Award are Shane Conklin and Avery Mitchell; and,

WHEREAS, the Mt. Washington Hall of Fame emerged in 2012 by the Grandview Social Club to honor people who were significant in making Mt. Washington such a wonderful community and a great place to raise a family. Its inductees include many sports personalities but also includes community activists; and,

WHEREAS, the Mt. Washington Hall of Fame 2021 inductees are: Marty Reilly- Championship Boxer (11-1 City Championship events); 1970-71 St. Mary's Grade School Basketball Team- State Championship Runner Up (17-1); and 1967 St Mary's High School Baseball Team - Undefeated (18-0) City Champions; and,

WHEREAS, the inaugural recipients of the Rosemary Farrell Grant are Megan Birch and Isabellemarie Cuchapin and the MWCDC / Neighbors on the Mount 2021 Neighbor of the Year is Deanna Nusser; and,

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Council of the City of Pittsburgh does hereby congratulate the 2021 recipients of the Mike Awards; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Council of the City of Pittsburgh does hereby declare, Sunday, August 8, 2021 to be **"Mike Awards Day"** in the City of Pittsburgh.