

## City of Pittsburgh

510 City-County Building 414 Grant Street Pittsburgh, PA 15219

## **Text File**

Introduced: 5/18/2004 Bill No: 2004-0393, Version: 1

Committee: City Council Status: Adopted

WHEREAS, the Perry Traditional Academy basketball team, the Commodores, finished their 2003-2004 season with an overall record of 24 wins and 6 losses, going 13 and 5 in the City League; and

WHEREAS, the Commodores won the New Castle Tournament by defeating New Castle High School in the first round and then Sharon in the championship game, and also won the Drill for Skill Tournament at LaRoche College by defeating North Catholic High School, West Allegheny High School, and Vincentian Academy; and

WHEREAS, the Commodores, under head coach Chuck Franklin, won the city basketball title for the second year in a row and its eighth title in 13 appearances under the leadership of seniors Michael Mitchell, Dewayne Pettus, Mark Carter, Caleb Minor, Scott Knapp, and John Gallagher; and

WHEREAS, senior Dwayne Pettus became the sixth player in Perry history to score 1,000 points in his career; and

WHEREAS, the Perry Traditional Academy 2003-2004 basketball team is made up of:

Brian Wilson
Nate Nixon
Anthony Johnson
Michael Mitchell
Warren Bryant
Dewayne Pettus
Mark Carter
Gary Nolen
Weston White
Caleb Minor
DeShawn Haynes
Scott Knapp
Corey Somerville
Antaun Evans
John Gallagher

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the City of Pittsburgh does hereby recognize and commend head coach Chuck Franklin, assistants Marco Corona and Jamaal Hinton, scorekeeper

Introduced: 5/18/2004 Bill No: 2004-0393, Version: 1

Committee: City Council Status: Adopted

Whitney McFadden, Statisticians Lorraine Laster and Janae Scott, Videographer Jhonna Newby, and ball boys Marco Corona and Ronald Carson and all those who have worked to make the Perry 2003-2004 basketball season a success.