# **City of Pittsburgh** 510 City-County Building 414 Grant Street Pittsburgh, PA 15219 **Meeting Minutes** Monday, January 6, 2020 10:00 AM **Council Chambers City Council ONE-HUNDRED** FORTY-FIRST COUNCIL Theresa Kail-Smith, President of Council Council Members: Rev. Ricky V. Burgess, Anthony Coghill, Deborah L. Gross, Bruce A. Kraus, R. Daniel Lavelle, Corey O'Connor, Erika Strassburger, Bobby Wilson Brenda F. Pree, City Clerk - Kim Clark-Baskin, Assistant City Clerk

### COLOR GUARD AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

#### SINGING OF THE NATIONAL ANTHEM

#### INVOCATION

#### SINGING OF AMERICA THE BEAUTIFUL

#### **PRESENTATION OF PAPERS**

#### **CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION**

<u>2020-0001</u>	Certificate of Election of Bobby Wilson as a Member of Pittsburgh City Council, District 1, for a four year term.
	Read, Received and Filed
<u>2020-0002</u>	Certificate of Election of Bruce A. Kraus as a Member of Pittsburgh City Council, District 3, for a four year term.
	Read, Received and Filed
<u>2020-0003</u>	Certificate of Election of Corey O'Connor as a Member of Pittsburgh City Council, District 5, for a four year term.
	Read, Received and Filed
<u>2020-0004</u>	Certificate of Election of Deborah L. Gross as a Member of Pittsburgh City Council, District 7, for a four year term.
	Read, Received and Filed
<u>2020-0005</u>	Certificate of Election of Ricky V. Burgess as a Member of Pittsburgh City Council, District 9, for a four year term.
	Read, Received and Filed

#### OATHS OF OFFICE ADMINISTERED

#### COMMENTS FROM RE-ELECTED AND NEWLY ELECTED MEMBERS

#### ROLL CALL

 Present 9 - Council Member Burgess, Council Member Coghill, Council Member Gross, Council Member Kraus, Council Member Lavelle, Council Member O'Connor, Council Member Kail-Smith, Council Member Strassburger, and Council Member Wilson

#### **ELECTION OF CITY COUNCIL PRESIDENT**

A motion was made by Council Member Bruce A. Kraus nominating Theresa Kail-Smith to serve as President of City Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 9 Council Member Burgess, Council Member Coghill, Council Member Gross, Council Member Kraus, Council Member Lavelle, Council Member O'Connor, Council Member Kail-Smith, Council Member Strassburger, and Council Member Wilson
- **No:** 0

Abstain: 0

### **RE-ORGANIZATION OF COUNCIL**

Assignment of Committee Chairs:

Rev. Burgess, Urban Recreation Mr. Coghill, Public Works Ms. Gross, Intergovernmental Affairs Mr. Kraus, Human Resources Mr. Lavelle, Finance & Law Mr. O'Connor, Public Safety Services Ms. Strassburger, Innovation, Performance and Asset Management Mr. Wilson, Land Use and Economic Development

A motion was made by Councilman Lavelle nominating Rev. Ricky V. Burgess to serve as President Pro-Tem.

A motion was made by Councilman Kraus nominating Deborah L. Gross to serve as President Pro-Tem.

#### Roll call vote for Rev. Ricky V. Burgess to serve as President Pro-Tem.

- Aye: 6 Council Member Burgess, Council Member Lavelle, Council Member O'Connor, Council Member Kail-Smith, Council Member Strassburger, and Council Member Wilson
- No: 3 Council Member Coghill, Council Member Gross, and Council Member Kraus

Abstain: 0

# BENEDICTION

## ADJOURNMENT